REPUBLIQUE DE VANUATU



REPUBLIC OF VANUATU

JOURNAL OFFICIEL

OFFICIAL GAZETTE

3 JUILLET 2000

NO. 16

3 JULY 2000

SONT PUBLIES LES TEXTES SUIVANTS

NOTIFICATION OF PUBLICATION

ORDERS

DECENTRALIZATION AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT REGIONS (AMENDMENT) ORDER NO. 5 OF 2000

CONTENTS

PAGE

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ACT [CAP. 114] -

 DECLARATION OF PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

1-6

<u>DECENTRALIZATION ACT NO. J</u> <u>OF 1994 –</u>

 APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE DECENTRALIZATION REVIEW COMMITTEE

7

LEGAL NOTICE -

BANKING ACT [CAP. 63]

8

CHAPTER 146

DECENTRALIZATION AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTREGIONS AMENDMENT ORDER NO. 5. OF 2000

TO AMEND THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (CONSTITUENCIES) ORDER NO. 13 OF 1996

To prescribe constituencies in 6 (six) Local Government Regions.

IN EXERCISE of the Powers conferred upon me by Section 3 of the Decentralization and Local Government Regions Act (CAP 127), I BARNABAS TABI, Minister for Internal Affairs hereby makes the following Order.

CONSTITUENCIES IN TAFEA REGION

1. For the purposes of the Election of Members to the TAFEA LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL, the TAFEA Region shall be divided into 5 Constituencies, the names and boundaries of which are set out in part A of the Schedule.

CONSTITUENCIES IN SHEFA REGION

2. For the purposes of the Election of Members to the SHEFA LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL, the SHEFA Region shall be divided into 6 Constituencies, the names and boundaries of which are set out in part B of the Schedule.

CONSTITUENCIES IN MALAMPA REGION

3. For the purposes of the Election of Members to the MALAMPA LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL, the MALAMPA Region shall be divided into 3 Constituencies, the names and boundaries of which are set out in part C of the Schedule.

CONSTITUENCIES IN PENAMA REGION

4. For the purposes of the Election of the Members to the PENAMA LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL, the PENAMA Region shall be divided into 3 Constituencies, the names and boundaries of which are set out in part D of the Schedule.

CONSTITUENCIES IN SANMA REGION

5. For the purposes of the Election of the Members to the SANMA LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL, the SANMA Region shall be divided into 2 Constituencies, the names and boundaries of which are set out in part E of the Schedule.

CONSTITUENCIES IN TORBA REGION

6. For the purposes of the Election of the Members to the TORBA LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL, the TORBA Region shall be divided into 7 Constituencies, the names and boundaries of which are set out in part F of the Schedule.

COMMENCEMENT

7. This Order shall come into force on the date of its signature.

MADE at Port Vila this

day of June 2000

MINISTER OF INTERNAL AFFAIRS

MINISTER OF INTERNAL AFFAIRS

MINISTER OF INTERNAL AFFAIRS

MINISTER OF INTERNAL AFFAIRS

REPUBLIC OF VANUATU SCHEDULE

PART A - TAFEA PROVINCE

CONSTITUENCIES	BOUNDARIES	NUMBER AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS
1. TANNA 2. ERROMANGO 3. ANIWA 4. FUTUNA 5. ANEITYUM	TANNA ISLAND ERROMANGO ISLAND ANIWA ISLAND FUTUNA ISLAND ANEITYUM ISLAND	15 1 1 1 1 — 1 —————————————————————————

PART B - SHEFA REGION

CONSTITUENCIES	BOUNDARIES	NUMBER AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS
1. EFATE 2. EPI 3. EMAE 4. TONGOA 5. TONGARIKI, BUNINGA, MAKIRA, MATASO 6. EMAU, PELE, NGUNA MOSO, LELEPA	EFATE ISLAND EPI ISLAND EMAE ISLAND TONGOA ISLAND FOUR SHEPHERD ISLANDS NORTH EFATE ISLANDS	8 3 1 1 1 — 1 ——1

PART C - MALAMPA REGION

CONSTITUENCIES	BOUNDARIES	NUMBER AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS
1. PAAMA	PAAMA ISLAND	2
2. AMBRYM	AMBRYM ISLAND	4
3. MALEKULA	MALEKULA ISLAND	———————————————————————————————————

PART D - PENAMA REGION

CONSTITUENCIES	•	NUMBER AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS
1. AMBAE 2. MAEWO 3. PENTECOST	AMBAE ISLAND MAEWO ISLAND PENTECOST ISLAND	6 2 <u>8</u> 16

PART E - SANMA PROVINCE

CONSTITUENCIES	BOUNDARIES	NUMBER AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS
	MALA/AORE ISLANDS SANTO ISLAND	3 <u>15</u> 18

PART F - TORBA REGION

CONSTITUENCIES	BOUNDARIES	NUMBER AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS
1. MERELAVA 2. GAUA/MERIG 3. MOTA 4. VANUALAVA 5. MOTALAVA 6. UREPARAPARA 7. TORRES	MERELAVA ISLAND GAUA/MERIG ISLANDS MOTA ISLAND VANUALAVA ISLAND MOTALAVA ISLAND UREPARAPARA ISLAND TORRES ISLANDS	1 1 1 1 1 1 1

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ACT [CAP 114]

DECLARATION OF PUBLIC HOLIDAY

<u>IN EXERCISE</u> of the power conferred by section 2 of the Public Holidays Act [CAP. 114], and on the advice of the Prime Minister, I, FATHER JOHN BENNET BANI, President of the Republic of Vanuatu, declare 19 June 2000 to be a Public Holiday throughout the Province of SHEFA.

DATED this 16 day of June 2000.

FR. JOHN BENNET BANI President of the Republic of Vanuatu

PRESIDENT Republic of Vanuatu

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ACT [CAP 114]

DECLARATION OF PUBLIC HOLIDAY

<u>IN EXERCISE</u> of the power conferred by section 2 of the Public Holidays Act [CAP. 114], and on the advice of the Prime Minister, I, FATHER JOHN BENNET BANI, President of the Republic of Vanuatu, declare 16 September 2000 to be a Public Holiday throughout the Province of PENAMA.

DATED this day of June 2000.

FR. JOHN BENNET BANT

Republic of

President of The Republic of Vanuatu

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ACT [CAP 114]

DECLARATION OF PUBLIC HOLIDAY

<u>IN EXERCISE</u> of the power conferred by section 2 of the Public Holidays Act [CAP. 114], and on the advice of the Prime Minister, I, FATHER JOHN BENNET BANI, President of the Republic of Vanuatu, declare 2 October 2000 to be a Public Holiday throughout the Province of TORBA.

DATED this 16..... day of June 2000.

FR. JOHN BENNET BANI President of the Republic of Vanuatu

PRESIDENT

Republic of

Vanuatu



PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ACT [CAP 114]

DECLARATION OF PUBLIC HOLIDAY

<u>IN EXERCISE</u> of the power conferred by section 2 of the Public Holidays Act [CAP. 114], and on the advice of the Prime Minister, I, FATHER JOHN BENNET BANI, President of the Republic of Vanuatu, declare 8 October 2000 to be a Public Holiday throughout the Province of TAFEA.

DATED this // day of June 2000.

FR. JOHN BENNET BANI
President of the Republic of Vanuatu

Republic of



PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ACT [CAP 114]

DECLARATION OF PUBLIC HOLIDAY

<u>IN EXERCISE</u> of the power conferred by section 2 of the Public Holidays Act [CAP. 114], and on the advice of the Prime Minister, I, FATHER JOHN BENNET BANI, President of the Republic of Vanuatu, declare 10 October 2000 to be a Public Holiday throughout the Province of MALAMPA.

DATED this & day of June 2000.

PRESIDENT Republic of Vanuatu

FR. JOHN BENNET BANI
President of the Republic of Vanuatu

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ACT [CAP 114]

DECLARATION OF PUBLIC HOLIDAY

<u>IN EXERCISE</u> of the power conferred by section 2 of the Public Holidays Act [CAP. 114], and on the advice of the Prime Minister, I, FATHER JOHN BENNET BANI, President of the Republic of Vanuatu, declare 8 December 2000 to be a Public Holiday throughout the Province of SANMA.

DATED this ///..... day of June 2000.

FR. JOHN BENNET BANI President of the Republic of Vanuatu

Republic of Vanuatu



DECENTRALIZATION ACT NO. 1 of 1994

A P P O I N T M E N T OF MEMBERS OF THE DECENTRALIZATION REVIEW COMMITTEE

<u>IN EXERCISE</u> of the powers conferred upon me by section 31A of the Decentralization Act No. 1 of 1994, I, BARNABAS TABI, Minister of Internal Affairs by order hereby appoint the following persons as members of the Decentralization Review Committee:

- 1. Mr. Ati George Sokomanu
- 2. Mr. Lambert Maltok
- 3. Ms. Naomi Bolenga

The appointments come into effect from the date on which this order is made.

MADE at Port Vila this 30th day of June 2000.

OF VANUATION OF VANUATI

Minister of Internal Affairs

.



THE BANKING ACT [CAP. 63]

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by Section 4(4)(a) of the Banking Act [CAP. 63], I hereby order the licence to carry on banking business as an exempted bank of

SOBINBANK LIMITED

granted on 24 January 1997 shall be and the same is hereby revoked.

Given under my hand and seal at Port Vila this twenty eight day of June 2000.

MORKING S. IATIKA
MINISTER OF FINANCE AND ECONOMIC MANAGEMENT