

PUBLIC SERVICE (AMENDMENT) ACT 2012

Act No. 4 of 2012



PUBLIC SERVICE (AMENDMENT) ACT 2012

Arrangement of Sections

Section					
1	Short Title				
2	Schedules amended	5			
SCH	HEDULE	7			



PUBLIC SERVICE (AMENDMENT) ACT 2012

Act No. 4 of 2012

AN ACT TO AMEND THE PUBLIC SERVICE ACT

I assent, GEORGE TUPOU VI, 20th July 2012.

BE IT ENACTED by the King and Legislative Assembly of Tonga in the Legislature of the Kingdom as follows:

1 Short Title

- (1) This Act may be cited as the Public Service (Amendment) Act 2012.
- (2) The Public Service Act 2002 is in this Act referred to as the Principal Act.

2 Section 2 amended

Section 2 of the Principal Act is amended by deleting it and replacing it with the following:

"2 Application of this Act

- (1) This Act shall apply to the following persons:
 - (a) All chief executive officers and employees in a Government Ministry, as listed in Part 1 of Schedule I; and
 - (b) All chief executive officers and employees in a Government Agency, as listed in Part 2 of Schedule I:

(2) This Act shall not apply to persons listed under Schedule II."

3 Schedules amended

The Schedules of the Principal Act are deleted and replaced with the Schedules to this Act.

Passed by the Legislative Assembly on the 25th day of June 2012.

SCHEDULE

"SCHEDULE I

Part 1: Government Ministries in the Public Service

- 1 Prime Minister's Office;
- 2 Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- 3 Ministry of Infrastructure;
- 4 Ministry of Lands, Environment, Climate Change and Natural Resources;
- 5 Ministry of Education and Training
- 6 Ministry of Health;
- 7 Ministry of Finance and National Planning:
- 8 Ministry of Commerce, Tourism and Labour;
- 9 Ministry of Internal Affairs;
- 10 Ministry of Public Enterprises;
- 11 Ministry of Justice;
- 12 Ministry of Revenue Services; and
- 13 Ministry of Agriculture, Food, Forests and Fisheries.

Part 2: Government Agencies

- 1 Office of the Lord Chamberlain;
- 2 Palace Office;
- 3 Audit Office:
- 4 Public Service Commission;
- 5 Attorney General's Office;
- 6 Office of the Anti-Corruption Commissioner; and
- 7 Office of the Commissioner of Public Relations (Ombudsman)

SCHEDULE II

- 1 Cabinet Ministers appointed under the Constitution;
- 2 Lord Chancellor appointed under the Constitution;
- 3 Lord Chief Justice appointed under the Constitution;
- 4 Governors appointed under the Constitution;
- 5 Judges of the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court appointed under the Constitution:
- 6 Judges and Land Assessors of the Land Court appointed under the Land Act;
- 7 Magistrates appointed under the Magistrate's Court;
- 8 Attorney General appointed under the Constitution;
- 9 Auditor General appointed under the Public Audit Act;
- 10 Commissioner for Public Relations appointed under the Commissioner for Public Relations Act;

- 11 Lord Chamberlain;
- 12 Lord Privy Seal;
- 13 Commissioners appointed under the Public Service Act;
- 14 Commissioners appointed under the Royal Commissions Act;
- 15 Members of the Tonga Police appointed under the Tonga Police Act;
- Members of the Prisons Department appointed under the Prisons Act;
- 17 Members of the Tonga Fire Services appointed under the Tonga Fire Services Act:
- 18 Members of the Tonga Defence Service appointed under the Tonga Defence Services Act; and
- 19 Employees of the Legislative Assembly appointed under the Legislative Assembly Act."