

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY (AMENDMENT) ACT 2010

Act 12 of 2010



LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY (AMENDMENT) ACT 2010

Act No. 12 of 2010

AN ACT TO AMEND THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY ACT

 $\begin{array}{c} I \text{ assent,} \\ PRINCESS \text{ SALOTE PILOLEVU TUITA,} \\ 6^{th} \text{May } 2010. \end{array}$

BE IT ENACTED by the King and Legislative Assembly of Tonga in the Legislature of the Kingdom as follows:

1 Short Title

- (1) This Act may be cited as the Legislative Assembly (Amendment) Act 2010.
- (2) In this Act, the Legislative Assembly Act, as amended, is referred to as the Principal Act.

${\bf 2} \qquad {\bf Section} \ {\bf 1A} \ {\bf added-Interpretation}$

The Principal Act is amended by inserting a new section 1A.

"1A Interpretation

In this Act -

- "Electoral Boundaries Commission" means the Commission established under the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act 2010;
- "**Electoral Commission**" means the Commission established under the Electoral Commission Act 2010.".

3 Section 3 replaced – Electoral constituencies and districts; number of members

Section 3 of the Principal Act is repealed and replaced with –

"3 Electoral constituencies and districts

- (1) For the purpose of the election of representatives of the people
 - (a) the Electoral Boundaries Commission shall divide the Kingdom into 17 electoral constituencies in accordance with the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act 2010; and
 - (b) for each such electoral constituency there shall be elected one representative of the people.
- (2) For the purpose of the election of representatives of the nobles, the Kingdom shall be divided into 5 electoral districts namely
 - (a) Tongatapu;
 - (b) Ha'apai;
 - (c) Vava'u;
 - (d) 'Eua;
 - (e) Niuafo'ou and Niuatoputapu, and
 - there shall be elected for Tongatapu 3 representatives of the nobles, for each of the electoral districts of Ha'apai and Vava'u 2 representatives of the nobles and for each of the electoral districts of 'Eua and Niuafo'ou and Niuatoputapu one representative of the nobles.
- (3) The Electoral Commission with the approval of Cabinet shall appoint the places within each electoral constituency and district where the election shall be held."

Passed by the Legislative Assembly this 15th day of April 2010.