

# National Gazette

### PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

(Registered at the General Post Office, Port Moresby, for transmission by post as a Qualified Publication)

No. G29]

## PORT MORESBY, MONDAY, 11th FEBRUARY

[2002

Tourism Promotion Authority Act 1993

# REVOCATION OF APPOINTMENT AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE TOURISM PROMOTION AUTHORITY BOARD

I, Honourable Sir Pita Lus, Kt, OBE., Minister for Culture and Tourism, by virtue of the powers conferred by Section 9 of the *Tourism Promotion Authority Act* 1993, and all other powers me enabling, and in accordance with the advice of the National Executive Council, hereby:—

- (a) revoke the following appointments to the Board of the Tourism Promotion Authority:—
  - (i) Sir Peter Barter, Kt,
  - (ii) Alio Baliki, OBE,
  - (iii) Max Benjamin
  - (iv) Mrs Betty Higgins

#### (b) appoint:—

- (i) Joseph Chow, to represent Hoteliers Industry under Section 9(1)(d)(i) of the Tourism Promotion Authority Act 1993 to be a member of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board;
- (ii) Sane Gao to represent Banks/Financial Institutions under Section 9(1)(d)(iv) of the Tourism Promotion Authority Act 1993 to be a member of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board;
- (iii) Sir George Constantinou, Kt, representative of recognized industry Body under Section 9(1)(d)(vii) of the *Tourism Promotion Authority Act* 1993 to be a member of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board; and
- (c) endorse the following current members to remain on the Board:— .
  - (i) Hon. John Kanadi, MP as Chairman under Section 9(1)(a) of the *Tourism Promotion Authority Act* 1993 to be a member of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board;
  - (ii) Jack Mera, Finance Department representative under Section 9(1)(b) of the Tourism Promotion Authority Act 1993 to be a member of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board;
  - (iii) Joe Kenny, to represent tour operators under Section 9(1)(d)(ii) of the Tourism Promotion Authority Act 1993 to be a member of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board;

### Revocation of Appointment and Appointment of Members of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board—continued

- Michael Buleau, commuter airline industry under Section 9(1)(d)(vi) of the Tourism Promotion Authority Act 1993 to be a member of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board;
- Michael Yaipupu, as experienced in Culture and Tourism development under Section 9(1)(e) of the Tourism Promotion Authority Act 1993 to be a member of the Tourism Promotion Authority Board;

for the period of two years commencing on and from the date of publication of this instrument in the National Gazette.

Dated this 11th day of February, 2002.

Sir Pita LUS, Kt, OBE., Minister for Culture & Tourism.

Printed and Published by K. Kaiah, Government Printer, Port Moresby.—75.